Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Trout Bum
666 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just learning how to fly fish and was wondering a good place to go and fish that is within 2 hours of Seattle. Lake or Stream doesn't matter. Have float tube, waders, boots, etc.

Forgot, this would be for trout.
:beer2

·
Slainte
6,656 Posts
Damn, you got a waiter? What's he do? Carry your tube?

Just kidding, a prerequisite here on the forum. There are a few lakes worth floating, north of you is Lone on Whidbey Island. Depending on your equipment, there is salt water to fish here also. Others will add their input too. I just had to jump on your typo...

}( }( }(

Roper,

Good things come to those who wade...

·
Registered
790 Posts
For local lakes, try Lone and Pass on Whidbey Island for fly fishing only. Most other lakes are open year round now. (Check your regs though).

For rivers, you can fish the Snoqualmie forks above the falls. I'd recommend heading over the pass and hitting the Yakima however. If the water is decent, the fishing has been good.

Pete

·
Registered
578 Posts
There is no shortage of fly fishig in Washington, either near Seattle, the Penninsula, or east over the mountains. You can fish year-round. In fact, my discovery of fly fishing, year-round fly fishing, AND local Puget Sound saltwater fly fishing changed my whole attitude about living here. (I was tired of the city, tired of the dampness and the grey, and was missing the dry heat of my native Southern Oregon). I'd be hard-pressed to move to an area that didn't have such great acessability to all the fly fishing one can stand. Glad you discovered the sport. You'll know you're in deep when you start tying your own flies....

Good Luck:thumb

Tom

·
Just an Old Man
35,207 Posts
I used to know it all---but now that I'm older I seem to forget it all.