Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am a soon to be college graduate who will be coming back home to Washington within a month, and my main issue is that I have been fishing out in Montana for 4 years which has been great, but its where I started fly fishing hence no experience back home with it all. I've recently become interested in learning more about spey and switch rods and wondering if anyone has advice on what would work well for a steelhead and all around salmon rod, particularly Chinook and Chums. I've looked at the new Echo switch rods, so maybe a 7 or 8wt from them. Since I'll be a college grad, money will be a bit tighter for a while so at $329 they won't break the bank as much as others will, but I am open to suggestions. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.

·
Still truckless now farther away
1,693 Posts
Start by going to' A day on the river' at Fall City on Saturday or Ben Howard near Monroe on Sunday. Aaron Riemer or Mike Kinney will give you all kinds of help and have rods and reels you can try for starters. Then go from there to deciding where to put your money. Don't be in a rush like too many of us were. A rod is usually just the beginning of the expense with lines and a good reel that will handle it all adding to the grand total. good luck

·
Long Lost Member
20,209 Posts
Start by going to' A day on the river' at Fall City on Saturday or Ben Howard near Monroe on Sunday. Aaron Riemer or Mike Kinney will give you all kinds of help and have rods and reels you can try for starters. Then go from there to deciding where to put your money. Don't be in a rush like too many of us were. A rod is usually just the beginning of the expense with lines and a good reel that will handle it all adding to the grand total. good luck