Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the pontoon world and river drifting. I borrowed a pontoon end of last year and did my first drift. I have been rowing boats since I was a kid and figured how hard could it be. River flows were low and slow so placed my rod next to me on the pontoon and went for it. In the first 100 yards there was 2 large rock in the middle of the river and only a small channel to get through. I started to row downstream but away from the rock to navigate around it but found that the I was now approaching the rock at an alarming speed and I was still on course for a collision. A bit of panic set in as I proceeded to row faster downstream only to worsen the situation and it quickly became apparent that a collision was imminent. My next reflex was to reverse my paddling upstream and away from the rock which of course helped and it became instantly apparent to me that this is what I should have done at the start but it was too late. A second before impact I realized that my rod tip was sticking out past the tip of the pontoon and would be the first thing to hit the rock. The tip proceeded to bend in a very unnatural way. At this point the fact that I was colliding with a rock and may end up in the river disappeared from my mind and I sat there frozen and dumbstruck watching my rod contort and waiting to hear the snap all while the boat bounced off the rock now sideways to the current and tipping. A little voice in my head was saying “how could you be in this much trouble just a few minutes into the trip”. Miraculously, the boat continued to rotate around and level out and I was now facing upstream with my rod still intact. After learning (the hard way) how to steer the boat in a current the rest of the trip was great and caught lots of fish and got to see an area of the river I had never seen before because it’s not accessible. I was hooked on drifting.

Segue to today.