Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
If u know u know
289 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
I am a young novice fly fisher in the Northwest Washington area. I have had a lot of experience fishing with spinning and bait-casting reels, but fly fishing has always been on my mind. So, my father in law was nice enough to give me all of his old gear from when he went backcountry fly fishing in Idaho in the '80s-90s. It doesn't look quite as outdated as it sounds though. Two rods, several reels with many extra spools, a float tube, net waders, fins, and a solid couple boxes of flies. Being a broke college kid, I am looking to save a few bucks if possible while accumulating the right gear to start landing some fish. I did decide get myself a new 5-6wt TFO rod, as I was told the old rods may not have the life in them that they used to have. But my main concern is all of the extra spools that I now have. They are perfectly wound with various types of fly line, I believe just sink tip and floating. Would these lines still be okay to use as long as I replace the leaders? They seem to work as intended (float/sink/etc.) but I have yet to get out more than a few times, only catching some small brookies last fall. If anyone has an idea on whether or not I should invest in some nicer fly line, I would appreciate the comment. :)

-Brandon

·
1,696 Posts
If they work, they work. Check them for cracks, brittleness, or other damage. And clean/dress them. If they stop working as intended or you find damage, then replace them.

·
FISHON206
4,692 Posts
As tkww mentioned, clean the floating line with a wet paper towel, then get a small bottle of dry line floatant and treat the line. If it's not cracked, it should float ok. Another thing since these been on the spool for a long time, stretching them will get the kinks and memory out...hopefully.

·
Registered
468 Posts