Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Fish Recycler
681 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a generic question regarding exploration on Westside streams.

I have been searching a lot of smaller streams, ones that it's hard to find names for or that it might be easy to cast across. I really enjoy little streams like those.

I've found sculpins in my searches, but no catchable fish. (Although I have not been fishing, only scouting, looking for signs of fish, turning over rocks and scanning the water).

My question is, on west-side waters, if the stream looks 'fishy,' is it likely to hold fish? That is, even if it doesn't hold trout, will it hold whitefish? Or if it gets warm in summer, is it likely to hold smallmouth or something like that? Or even suckers and carp?

I gather that in general those waters that hold trout hold small trout due to lack of aquatic nutrients, but since I have no experience around here, I guess I don't really know.

I'm not trying to get into anybody's secret spot, I'm just asking a question more of general stream fish habitation around here so that my fishing searches won't be completly for the aesthetics, I'd like it if they included fish sometimes.

Thanks in advance,

Teeg.

You can be a fish recycler, too. Let 'em swim.

·
Registered
105 Posts
First before stepping foot in any stream your exploring, check the regs and make sure its open. Streams that are not listed usually will have a general rule they follow.
As long as a stream is somewhat forested, has a few deeper pools and has room to make a cast it may be worth a try. Just be careful though. Many of the small 5 -10" "trout" people try to catch are actually salmonid smolts and fishing for them can have major impacts. Try to avoid streams that are rearing sites for juvenile coho, steelhead and cutthroat, unless you are specificly tagreting returning adults (where open).