Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
570 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

Due to work and other time constraints, my research time is limited, but I'm contemplating a couple day trip to the peninsula and would like to pick the collective brain.

This potential trip is the suggestion of my 24 year old son who has some time away from work & school and has never caught a steelhead before....the idea being that we'd meet over there and flog a river for a couple days.

I'm no great steelheader, but I love going out and swinging a fly. I typically don't do many overnight trips so my knowledge base is limited to waters within a couple hours of Bellingham...meaning I have little knowledge of timing and such over there.

I'm not asking for anyone's secret spot just some general information to help as I start looking into it...so here goes:

The potential dates to be on the water are Dec 20 & 21. Would fish be showing at this time?

Then, any particular river to suggest? We would be on foot, so which system might be better suited to walking and wading at this time of year? Also, I'm considering dragging my little travel trailer if there's a campground nearby.

Guess that's about it. Thanks in advance for whatever you're willing to share as I start looking into this.

Mike d

·
Registered
319 Posts
If December 20 and 21 is your time frame, bring your own rock and prepare to do battle on the Lower Bogachiel as the majority of the run will be hatchery component at that point and quite concentrated. If you're walking, foot access to the Lower Bogachiel is limited to more well-known access points around boat ramps (Hatchery, Wilson's, Leyendecker).