Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking to get a new hip or sling pack for beach fishing and am wondering what people use or would prefer to use if given the choice. I have been checking out the hip packs from Fishpond and Patagonia (waterproof). What do you guys think about a waterproof vs non waterproof and any pros or cons for the gear you currently use?

·
Beach Bum
1,432 Posts
I used the orvis sling pack for years, but it really was too small. A bottle of water and it was hard to zip. The bigger sizes from all the companies will serve you better. Think about a rain jacket and water bottle fitting in with your gear at a minimum.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

·
Stop Killing Wild Steelhead!
5,673 Posts
The newer Orvis sling packs are roomier, with a waterproof option. I have been coveting Leland's Orvis Guide sling pack for a while now. I have been using hip/shoulder strap packs for over 30 years, and I like them. My Patagonia chest pack was converted to hip use. I used it for over 15 years. My Orvis Guide hip pack is just a few years old. I have to rinse them with freshwater frequently.
But I can see that the waterproof sling packs offer better and simpler access, and they stay out of the water.

·
Registered
1,784 Posts
I love my Fishpond!! Waterproof, roomy, tons of features, plus it looks great. The Patagonia version is bland looking and lacks some features. I just expect to get wet so it is my year round beach pack!

·
Registered
615 Posts
I have an older Orvis sling. Non waterproof. It's the smaller version and it's too small. Everything gets soaked in the rain. I've got my eye on the new Orvis sling coming out:

Luggage and bags Bag Backpack Font Service

·
McFly
401 Posts