Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Everyone!

I'm wondering if anyone has any advice for fishing Picnic Point? I'm really interested in beach fishing but my only experience on salt is pier fishing at Edmonds, Kingston and Kayak Point where I either bait fish perch or jig for squid.

I just acquired my first fly rod and some waders so I'm really just up for a learning experience. I don't have a target species in mind, it really would depend on what's present if anything.

The gear I have is a 9ft 7/8 weight rod with front weight floating line. I have some small crab mimic flies and small/med baitfish flies. I'm also comfortable tying other flies if there are any suggestions.

I would love to catch flounder or surf perch if possible. From my understanding MA 9 is closed to Coho and Chum retention.

Again I have no experience with a fly rod or beach fishing so any advice is appreciated! Also hiring a guide or buying fly lessons is not a current option but is a consideration down the road for anyone who was going to suggest that.

Thanks!!

·
Registered
798 Posts
Year round, you can catch SRC although a 7/8 wt rod might be a bit overkill. SRC is catch and release only (single point, barbless hooks). I would be interested to hear what others think about Picnic Point as it's right in my backyard.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Year round, you can catch SRC although a 7/8 wt rod might be a bit overkill. SRC is catch and release only (single point, barbless hooks). I would be interested to hear what others think about Picnic Point as it's right in my backyard.
Yeah I've heard and read quite a bit about SRC. They seem to be a bit out of my league at the moment ;). And my wife actually bought all my fly gear as an anniversary gift for me. She bought the 7/8 so I could use it for salmon and steelhead as well.

·
Triploid, Humpy & Seaplane Hater....Know Grizzler
14,857 Posts