Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just found this website tonite and I'm defintely impressed. I'm new to the sport,took my first casting class last month.I've almost got all of the basic equipment, buying the waders tomorrow. My question is "Where do ya start?" By that I mean should I start out on streams, float tube, lakes from the shore? Should I start with drys, nymphs, or what,or am I thinking too much and should I just try it all. I'm heading out to Bozeman in August to fish with my Father-in-law who's been doing this for 40 years. No pressure on me at all. Any advice you could give would be much appreciated. And if you see some guy on the stream or the lake looking like a newbie, give him a wave, he needs all the support he can get.

·
Registered
364 Posts
Flyfish as much as you can you will learn something every time your on the water even if you have been flyfishing for 50 years. Thats whats so great about the sport you can never master it completely thats why they call it fishing not catching. You can't start any where better than montana you will have fun just be observant to everything around you and try to learn as much as you can and don't be afraid to ask questions theres no such thing as a stupid question exept what color of power bait is working best right now while your in a fly shop. Welcome to the sport you will never be the same.Let us know how you do in montana.GOOD LUCk. :THUMBSUP

"LOVE'M AND LEAVE'M" C&R

fly15

·
Formerly Tight Loops
1,341 Posts
Given the way this weekend is starting up, I would go fish a lake. The rivers are all running high and tough to wade or fish. Maybe you can find a river or a stream that is fishable, but it will be tough.