Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I see messages all the time about which boat to buy, how big, etc. I don't see much inquiry regarding learning to use them. My dad and I picked up a pair of Scadden boats at the sportsmen show this past Sunday. He ordered a 9' boat and when the guys were packing stuff up, I made an offer on their 8' Expedition floor sample and they gave me a good deal since the Seattle show was their last show of the trip and we had already bought one boat.

I have a float tube and using the pontoon boat on a lake seems pretty simple. I am hoping to take the boats out on rivers and am kind of wondering where to start. My river running experience is limited to one trip on a guided raft trip down the North Umpqua. Anyway, advice would be appreciated. I am going to try to find a nice calm section of river near Seattle to practice on soon so I have some experience when I take it out on an actual fishing trip. Any recommendations? Fish are optional for this effort. I was planning to try the Yakima in the Cle Elum or Easton area as the river is a bit smaller there, but I have heard that there are other factors that make this section pretty risky.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
111 Posts
Baily,

I as well have a pontoon boat, but not too much experience using them in rivers. I have used mine quite a bit on the Yuba river in CA, however there is not much more than a maybe a couple of small class II rapids on it. I would like to get some more use out of it up here, but don't know what rivers are good pontooning waters. If you ever need someone to share the trip with, definately don't be afraid to give me a hollar. Sorry I am not much help...

Scott

G

·
I too have one,but it is not rated for rivers. It only has 8' pontoons and I think that it is tooo small for rivers. I would find out if your boat is rated for rivers before you go out,just to be on the safe side. Jim S.

·
Registered