Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,225 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just purchased an Outcast pac 1000 pontoon boat from the classifieds. It comes with cataract oars and upgraded oar locks. Also has a nice anchor with it as well.

I won't be picking it up for a few weeks and I'm trying to get ready!

I need to get a pdf as well as rod holders. Anything else that I should be considering? I plan on floating the s rivers mostly.

I have some experience on the oars, but nothing major. I've paddled the cowlitz and Spokane rivers.

I've been looking online for videos and lessons but can't really find much. Here is one video that I found, does anyone have any good YouTube videos that they recommend?

·
Registered
1,177 Posts
Get yourself a pair of adjustable Force Fins as well. As long as the river isn't moving very fast, they'll let you slow down your speed so you can fish as you float.

I've got this same boat - or at least similar - the Outcast Ferrari Series 10' model. The fins make it possible to fish when I'm floating, but not nearly as easyily as controlling the boat with oars in the river, but at least make it possible to fish water that I'd be passing by otherwise.

Another thing you'll want is a long handle boat net. It is very hard, or nearly impossible, to reach over the side or between the tubes to net a fish with a regular sized handle net while sitting in the rower's seat.

You might also want to get a small assortment of NRS cam straps in various lengths to secure you gear on the boat - things like your cooler, a spare oar, etc.