Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Being new to this sport im still learning the techniques of casting. I do occasional practice but im still havin a lot of trouble. My main problem is that my shoulder and hand get tired very quickly and more often than not the fly and leader tend to all fall in the same spot. Any suggestions for practice exercises and solutions to my problems???

Thanks,
Tyler

Fish On!!!

·
Registered
53 Posts
"My opinion and 50 cents wouldn't buy you a half a cup of coffee..."

Ty,
With that said first, I would like to say that I have been casting a fly for twenty years now, and I still get sore if I put the rod down for an extended amount of time. Fortunately, for me, that is not too often, but I've felt your pain. Solution would be not to let those muscles used, associated with fly fishing, to rest for too long once you've built them up.:) lol. (That may work on some wives...not mine, she fishes with me.) Anyways, getting seriuos, your title says a lot. Practice does make perfect, no matter what it is. The trouble you are having and the sore muscles will go away, and the fly will straighten itself out. Keep practicing, on your lawn or favorite piece of water, also have someone watch your cast, they may see something you could do differently. Read, watch, ask, and never stop.
Have fun! -glen

·
Patrick
1,805 Posts
You may be moving your upper arm or shoulder to much while casting. I had that trouble when I first started to learn to cast myself if I remember back. Tired arms are often a sign of to much movement of the arm instead of letting the rod do the work. Often I would guess it is unlearning your musles to cast a spin rod. It takes some time working on 10 & 2 and keeping the elbow steady at the same time. It took me I think about a month or two of casting only the fly rod without touching a spin rod to get it down. So just keep working at it. You will get it down. :)

·