Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance. 

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've had a couple sessions with this rod now; getting ready for summer run to start. I'm relatively new to this 2 handed game, grain of salt rule and all; but I've cast a number of different rods and have a decent perspective to provide (me thinks anyway)

• This thing is fast, really fast. If you like deep loading at a relaxed pace move along; not the rod for you...
  • It's relentlessly unforgiving if you cut a corner, set a bad anchor, use too much top hand or....; this stick doesn't suffer fools. I didn't use live ammo with my first outings. I slapped my a$$ and the back of my jacket with a piece of yarn more than once until I got the feel and timing down.
  • Even though the rod is very fast, there really is good feedback all the way through to the the base of the rod when you load it right and cast it correctly.
  • I cast my first scandi line with it. For me that's where this rod really shines so far. Effortless, line speed, mojo, tight loops are the words that come to mind. I broke the 100' mark for the first time. I honestly didn't think I was out past 70'; it just seemed to easy.
  • Does not handle relatively heavy hardware ( at least for me ) as well as my 8 wt 11-6 switch. I might just need to get things dialed in. I had a 550gr skagit short (20') with a 12' OPST sink tip (132gr) tossing a lightly weighted rabbit fur fly. Never got it out past 75', which is more than fishable but the casts were inconsistent. I have no doubt the rod will handle reasonable 'junk' in the right hands., but I'll need to get things dialed in: find the right head/tip combos and work on my technique if I plan to use it for that game