Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Need some advice for Purdy bridge. Is low or high tide preferred? And is incoming or outgoing better? I think I may have this backwards but I believe Jacob at GHFS told me to fish behind the restaurant for outgoing and fish the spit side for incoming. Could someone please confirm if this is right?

Also, which side of the bridge is fishable? Can I fish on north and south sides of the bridge? Should I be fishing the lagoon or the bay? What flies do you recommend?

I'm new to fly fishing and the area so be gentle with me and bear with me if I ask some follow up questions.

- Augy

·
Triploid, Humpy & Seaplane Hater....Know Grizzler
14,857 Posts
Very much agree with what XP said.
Being new to fishing the salt, try and fish as much and as many tidal phases as possible.
You'll soon start seeing patterns as to which tides fish best on certain beaches.

The place you asked about is a good place to catch your first searun cutthroat. It also gets hammered due to it being so easy to access.
I've seen four people there the last two Saturdays I've driven by and up to nine people in the past.
Once you've caught a few fish there, expand your horizons as there are a lot better beaches to fish.

A gazetteer and google earth will be your biggest help.

Good luck,
SF

·
Stop Killing Wild Steelhead!
5,673 Posts