Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This weekend bugwhippersnapper and I will be floating the yakima river for our first time. Actually, I have floated it a couple times, but only from ringer to big horn. Anyway we are looking to do a decently long float, probably most of the day. About how many hours would it take to float from ringer to uptanum? Or, do you guys have any suggestions for a good float? We want to stick to the lower canyon, and sections with the least amount of challenging water. Thanks in advance for your help.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Another question that came to mind was if there are any sweepers from ringer to umtamum that I should be aware of? This will be my first trip where I am on the sticks the whole time. I have floated a handful of times in driftboats and rafts and been in sleds countless times. Needless to say I am a novice on the sticks, so any advice is welcome.

By the way, we will be out Saturday and Sunday in an NRS Otter with a rowing frame rented from CWU. So if any of you guys see us be sure to say hi!

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I was planning on stopping by troutwater tomorrow to buy some bugs for saturday. I will pick their brains as well. I am super excited for this trip so I've been trying to gain as much information as possible. I am very familier with the Yak and the lower canyon from a bankie's perspective, just haven't done any serious floating on it.

·
Sculpin Enterprises
3,461 Posts
I haven't been up as far as Ringer recently, but there are no significant sweepers between Big Horn and Umptanum (and generally there never are). At 1300cfs, you will need to keep an eye out for rocks below the surface and you will want to pay attention to the line with the most water when you hit the shallow riffles.