Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
205 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Long story short, my father has dementia and it has accelerated recently, which is giving me a lot to think about. Result of that is that I’m headed to Alaska next summer to check off a bucket list item.

I won’t say I’m the best fisherman but I’ve been doing it since 1989 off and on and know what equipment fits which situation and my likes and dislikes, etc, when it comes to lines 6 and under. I like moderate action rods and have a handful of LL’s, SP’s, and TM Rodsmiths in 3-6. But I do not know much about lines 7 and above and I don’t own any. I will obviously cast the ones I am considering, but I want some unbiased opinions and help thinking about the right combination line weights. I also want to know about fighting and landing fish in certain line weights and I can’t learn that from casting in a parking lot.

I put a deposit down on a TMR and can choose weight and details later. I’m thinking I also should have a faster rod as well bc we will be hitting salmon and trout in Alaska weather. And it seems 7 and 8 weights are the right sizes. I’ve had discussions with a few friends, TMR, and a local fly shop but curious to get the thoughts of you peoples…I’m not trying to spend a ton of money but I also don’t want to get to there and not have the equipment I should bc i wanted to save a few hundred $. At a certain point money comes into play and I’m not rich, but I can justify two rods and two reels and have that budgeted into the trip cost.

So, the questions, in no particular order.
- Seems like I could get by with a 6 (which I have) and a new 8 if I wanted to only buy one rod. Better but more expensive approach is to buy two rods and have a 7 and an 8. Thoughts?