Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Banned
1,626 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When fly fishing bait-allowed lakes can a fly fisherman catch and release beyond the retention limit? Said differently, if the bait-allowed lake has a two fish limit, do you need to quit fishing when you have released two fish?

·
Banned
10,387 Posts
Not sure. I should think or hope the answer to be yes however only because bait caught fish have a much higher mortality when released.

·
Banned
1,626 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Once you have caught AND KEPT a limit, you cannot continue to C&R, but if you are releasing, there's no limit.
I agree with you and Jim. But, FSA makes a good point and I can not find specific language in the regs to back up your statement. I hope you are right or I have been braking the law for over 40 years!

·
Banned
10,387 Posts
Once you have caught AND KEPT a limit, you cannot continue to C&R, but if you are releasing, there's no limit.
So you can bait catch and release all day long, then just keep a couple at quitting time? I use to work the kids trout pond at Steel Lake (TU function) for years... I have to believe most released trout don't survive. Good I suppose if you're the trout farmer.

·
Banned
1,626 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Hmmmmm, did find this:

In lakes, ponds, and reservoirs: No min. size. Daily limit 5. When fishing with bait, all TROUT (except STEELHEAD) equal to or greater than the minimum size are counted as part of the daily limit whether kept or released.

I don't think fly fishermen would get privileges?????????

·
Registered
2,318 Posts
Hmmmmm, did find this:

In lakes, ponds, and reservoirs: No min. size. Daily limit 5. When fishing with bait, all TROUT (except STEELHEAD) equal to or greater than the minimum size are counted as part of the daily limit whether kept or released.

I don't think fly fishermen would get privileges?????????