Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, new to the forum here so apologies if this has been asked before but are they’re any site, resources, etc that y’all recommend to learn more about building one’s own rod?

Seems like it would be an interesting learning experience to do it at least once.

Thanks in advance.
R

· FISHON206
4,776 Posts
So what kind of rod are you thinking of building? Graphite, fiberglass or my choice.....bamboo! How much do you want to spend? There’s several inexpensive kits that come with everything......good starter in my opinion. I’ve been building rods for over 35 years now and still use the simple scrap wood blank holder and thread holder. Any questions I’d be glad to help.
Steve

· Registered
7,459 Posts

· Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the responses all -- will check out the Mudhole and good questions Steve! I was thinking about building a 3wt or 4wt fiberglass rod and would like to spend $300 or less (is that reasonable?)

· Steelhead Junkie
270 Posts
I will 2nd mudhole.com as a good resource with good prices. Thye literally have everything you will ever need to build. There are several companies out there who sell fly rod building supplies, however, mud hole is the most comprehensive site and resource I have found. the rod kits listed a few posts up already sold. You can definitely find a decent complete kit for under $200. Hook and Hackle has them and they have always been a good operation.

Good luck! I was just looking at the first rod I build back in March of 2008.

· Registered
910 Posts
Another source I use is Proof Fly Fishing - Proof Fly Fishing: Quality fly rod building supplies . Very nice reel seats, cork grips, etc. for bamboo and composite rod builders. They sell fiberglass, graphite, and even bamboo blanks and kits.