Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been doin a little experimenting in the south sound with surface patterns for cutts. Cutts seem really eager to hit the fly but have a hard time landing a direct chomp. I've been using a black-underside chernobyl ant with chartreuse thread. Does anyone else know any effective patterns for surface action in the saltwater? I don't know if I'm getting refusals, but they chase it and sometimes perform acrobatics to try and grab it but I get hook ups only half the time.
Great fun though when the big fish are there. Any input would be cool-
Bryan

·
Registered
45 Posts
I have been having the same problem. I'm new to the whole dryfly cutthroat scene, but alot of time it seems like they are overeager and hit it so hard that they just plain miss or barely get hooked. It could be the fact they are not use to feeding on the surface in the saltwater (unlike trout found in a lake environ), or they hit the fly out of curiosity? I don't know, anyone else have and idea?

·
Registered
1,097 Posts
This seems to be a standard complaint. Even old masters I've talked to like Les Johnson acknowledge that cutts seem to love topwater flies, but just can't seem to get ahold of them. Les told me about a solution some kid had come up with, but now I can't remember what it was. I thikk this may be what Steve Raymond meant when he said in "The Estuary Flyfishier" that he uses dry flies as searching patterns for sea runs. They like the things so much that if they are around, you'll find them with some kind of skittered fly, then you can switch to a streamer or bait imitation and start hooking them.

·
Registered
71 Posts