Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new to dedicated fly-fishing for trout and at this point in my tying experience I lean towards soft hackled-flies and some of the basic nymphs - like the Prince and Pheasant-Tailed, etc. Frankly, the dries are just a little tougher for me, too.
Any suggestions for searching patterns that are geared towards simplicity and readily tied with basic materials? I've got a reasonable selection of basic materials including various hackles, beads, tying thread down to 8/0, fine copper wire, hooks up to size 16, etc, but of course willing to get other items if they can lead me into patterns I can handle and which will work on freestone mountain streams and smaller rivers here in western North Carolina this fall and beyond.
Any general or specific questions and guidance welcomed. References to patterns on line and from other sources will work too. What really helps me is experience-based input.
Thanks.

· Registered
6 Posts
I live in Oregon now but fished for years in Colorado mountain creeks and streams. You're on the right track...90% of what a trout eats are sub-surface insects. Try flipping over some rocks and look at the little crawlies that call it home, you'll find that your PTs and Princes are where you need to be. Basic stonefly nymph patterns tied heavy in size 8, fished in deep holes will produce. These can be simple (merely suggestive).

The sub-surface list...
Wooly Bugger:
(big, small, light, bright, dark), this pattern has caught more trout in more conditions than any other pattern
Nymphs:
pheasant tails, prince nymph, stonefly nymphs all in sizes 4-16 (these will all cross over to dragon and damsel fly nymphs as well)
Larva:
caddis (google Mop Fly) with bright green body and black head, my buddy catches trout, salmon, steelhead, LM and SM bass and CATFISH...all on the same fly!!
Soft Hackles: