Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
188 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay Im a newbie to this spey casting scene but Im about to bust in on it. I have a dumb question. Correct me if Im wrong, I have my Backing connected to my skagit line then connected to that I have a mow tip or some type of tip, then connected to that I have my clear leader w/ fly. I know its probably a dumb question and Ive watched countless youtube videos and read many articles. I just want to make sure Im grasping the whole concept. Thanks

·
Registered
15,541 Posts
Kyle,

If your Skagit "line" is a full line, then you're set. Many Skagit heads are sold without a running line, and need one between the head and the backing. I have a couple RIO Skagit lines that are complete head and running line in a single unit. Then I have an Airflow Skagit head; it needs some kind of running line between it and the backing. MOW tips or straight sink tips are both suitable to loop onto the forward end of your Skagit head.

It can be confusing, so no worries about dumb questions around here.

Sg

·
Registered
188 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ok so I assume that if I get like the skagit versi tip package that is 120ft long that has the running line built in. Where as the skagit heads are like 27ft long right? And as far as running line goes does it really matter what it is or can it be any WF line thats the proper wt for the rod? Also in using a 7wt 13ft spey fishing the cowlitz river do you think t-11 or t-14 would be better. Thanks for the quick input.

·
Registered
368 Posts
You're right about the 120 ft Skagit line having the running line included. As for the 27 ft Skagits you're much better off using a shooting line attached to it. A WF line is going to give you problems shooting and won't work nearly as well as one designed to shoot. When I fished the Cowlitz T-11 was plenty but conditions may vary.

GBeeman

·
Registered
15,541 Posts
Kyle,