Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I went to the Skokomish river yesterday with my dad ( he doesn't fish, just enjoys the scenery). Started out between 101 and 106 for some salmon but no luck. not many people were having any. I think it needs a few more good rains to bring more fish, they were pretty few and far between. Of course I'm still pretty new to the salmon end of fishin. Decided to go west of 101 and try for some trout. River low and clear. Absolutely beautiful. not another soul around. Bear scat and elk prints everywhere. Right away started hooking into little guys (3-6"). Finally got into a solid 12" bow. Then a few more little guys, then a nice 11", then more little guys. saw one salmon making his way up river through the shallows. On the way back down stopped back at the hole where the 11" was and hooked a big guy, full with acrobatics and all, must have been a good 14". Right in front of a log jam. Trying to get him away from the logs my 7x tippet snapped. :beathead: Caught about 15 fish, all on size 12 stimulators. great fun, beautiful day.:thumb:

·
"Ride'n Dirty."
1,631 Posts
I'm a Skok river hater. That river has done nothing for me. I know there are fish in there, I know it, but that rivers dead to me...you hear me Skok, dead!

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm a Skok river hater. That river has done nothing for me. I know there are fish in there, I know it, but that rivers dead to me...you hear me Skok, dead!
LOL! I can think of several rivers that I feel that way about. This one proved pretty good for me though. This time at least.

·
FUBAR
971 Posts
Nice! Wetfeet. Buck remember any day on a river is a good day ;)

·
Long Lost Member
20,205 Posts