Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 102 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
222 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I ordinarily would not behave this way but enough was enough. I booked a trip with Castaway Fly Shop in
Coeur D'Alene, ID last January for June. I cancelled said trip end of March to go into Canada instead. My deposit of nearly $250 was to be credited to my credit card. After many phone calls to the owner for the credit reminder, as well as messages and Email, to this date no credit or return call for a reasonable explanation. I had to put a dispute in with the credit card company to resolve this. I feel cheated and wanted to let all of you know to be aware of this shop. I just about took matters into my own hands and travel to that shop with a peace officer and just grab $250 worth of stuff and walk, Makes me angry. Poor service at best.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,133 Posts
I'm sorry you had to cancel your trip, but what do you think a deposit is for? Don't shop owners have a right to protect their business? I'm not familiar with this shop, but I don't think you got poor service. I think you had to cancel a trip and a shop owner had $250 to cover whatever losses they incurred in arranging that trip. I think your complaint is misplaced.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
222 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm sorry you had to cancel your trip, but what do you think a deposit is for? Don't shop owners have a right to protect their business? I'm not familiar with this shop, but I don't think you got poor service. I think you had to cancel a trip and a shop owner had $250 to cover whatever losses they incurred in arranging that trip. I think your complaint is misplaced.
I totally disagree with you. There was no mention of non refundable and when I call after two months to cancell he stated he was happy to credit my card. No expenses used to hold trip for 6 mo then cancel with 4 months remaining. Repeated calls and no action is poor service. I guess you like getting ripped off. Not me.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
887 Posts
I bought an expensive reel from them a few years back but it was at the end of our season. I finally got it out a few months later and did not like it at all. I went back there a month or two after that and just mentioned I did not like it and they offered to take it back and give me shop credit for the full value. To me, that is great customer service. I agree with b-, non-refundable deposits seem to be pretty common. The shops need to cover their behinds in case someone backs out after they have reserved the date.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
222 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I bought an expensive reel from them a few years back but it was at the end of our season. I finally got it out a few months later and did not like it at all. I went back there a month or two after that and just mentioned I did not like it and they offered to take it back and give me shop credit for the full value. To me, that is great customer service. I agree with b-, non-refundable deposits seem to be pretty common. The shops need to cover their behinds in case someone backs out after they have reserved the date.
I never looked at a website policy. When I booked the trip I was never told about a policy. We were to fish the Kettle and after people advising me here for early June that it was risky, I changed my mind and booked a different trip in Canada for August. I then called the shop owner and he said he would credit my account. Sound like his word is not golden. I don't really care about what other nice things he's done like honoring your real that you didn't like after two months. I later called him 3 more times to remind him. Left two messages and he said he would get on it. I emailed him as well. My last call I left him a message which was nice, and my phone number to call me if there was an issue. Once again ignored. He could have easily called me back to give me his policy but did not. I think I made a very reasonable attempt to have him make good on his WORD. I think that counts for something, but liberals may not agree. So take it for what its worth. Its my experience and if others agree with me, then this served someone. If not, have a nice day .
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,506 Posts
I think it has always been understood that the deposit reserves the spot and date and is non refundable. Otherwise there would a large number of no shows. I guided a few years and you run across flakey unreliable clients who just don't show. Most not even notify guide of no show. Hence the deposit

I have had to cancel a few trips fishing and hunting trips over the years and was able to find someone to take my place and pay me my deposit back. One option.

Or I have just asked if I could use the deposit on a future trip or even store credit. Most guides / shops will work with their clients
 

·
Dumbfounded
Joined
·
10,887 Posts
I think that counts for something, but liberals may not agree.
WTF? How on earth did this become a political topic??? ....as far as I'm concerned, just the opposite of your remark holds true. It's been my experience that more conservatives have gone back on their words than have liberals.... as long as we're heading down the political path...
 
1 - 20 of 102 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top