Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
I'm a teacher, I fish to eat!
785 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys just had a question, has anyone fished it this year? Me and a buddy were thinking about going this weekend and doing a float. does anyone know if the water is even open? (ice free) Had anyone fished the river yet with success? Any info would be great as we are trying to see if we can fish it this weekend! Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
493 Posts
My cousin who lives in Moscow, said that is prob been pretty muddy so im guessing its ice free. This info is all second hand though. You could always call the red shed and ask them too. If its muddy I would stick the the north fork. Might be a lot of people on the road side but usually not on the opposite side. Good luck to ya. Let us know how it goes as im headed over in feb for a week or so.

·
785 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Tyler! A call to Poppy at the Red shed is a great idea!!! Thats why we have this board! I forgot about that! But any info you guys have would still be great!

·
785 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Well i gave Poppy a call and he said the river is running west.....:) He said he hasn't been down to the water in 3 days so he is not sure what it looks like, said it was muddy on the weekend but that it has been nice and might be cleared out. Still looking for some first hand accounts.... Anyone know of a good float? This will be my first time on the Clearwater and we are basically going blind..pm if you feel like it, thanks!

·
Registered
3,996 Posts
I can't help you with current conditions but I do have a friend planning to go soon. However, when I questioned him about floating it, he told me the South Fork Clearwater is closed to floating. I don't have a copy of the Idaho regulations but you may want to check if you are not sure.

·
Registered
1,297 Posts