Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Banned
745 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am planning a trip up to Quebec in June for atlantic salmon. I have little experience casting these big rods. Is there a big advantage using a 13 foot spey rod vs a 11 foot switch rod? it would seem the shorter rod would be a little easier to handle. I am considering a 7 or 8 weight rod. Thanks

·
Registered
15,541 Posts
If you don't already know how to Spey cast, Spey casting is easier to do and to learn with a 13' rod than an 11' one.

I think you'll find that most of the fishermen in Quebec are using a single hand fly rod anyway. So don't feel like you "need" to get either a Spey or switch rod.

·
Registered
273 Posts
My first attempt at two handed casting was an 11' 6" 7 weight switch which I stuck with, and wasted my time. The second rod is a 13 foot 7 weight spey rod this fishes like a dream and does everything I want it to. With a couple of lessons you can get the line choice dialed in and be on the water casting further than you ever dreamed.

·
livin' the dream
1,672 Posts
My first attempt at two handed casting was an 11' 6" 7 weight switch which I stuck with, and wasted my time. The second rod is a 13 foot 7 weight spey rod this fishes like a dream and does everything I want it to. With a couple of lessons you can get the line choice dialed in and be on the water casting further than you ever dreamed.
@Salmo_g and Bjorn, can you guys explain why this is? Seems counter intuitive, but would like to hear more on this

·
Registered
273 Posts