Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Long Lost Member
20,209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been contemplating getting a 5+ piece pack rod for a couple of years. I've read about 25 threads where pack rods have been discussed or listed in the classifieds. Who out there has a pack rod that they are really happy with (or really hate)? I've been looking at building another from a 7pc blank, the 8pc Echo Trip, some of the Cabelas pack rods and of course a number of 5 pc rods that will break down to about 22-24". I'd like it reliable, the smaller packing the better. Just wondering who's still happy with theirs? The girls and I have been talking up some nice hikes and overnight camping trips...I'll be the one with the pack full of our things. The right pack rod will be a nice addition. Thanks.

·
Registered
400 Posts
I bought the Cabelas 7 piece a while ago, used it once and will prob. never look at it again. I used a friends Winston LT (5Pc), and Im in love. A steep price tag, but it has great action, and is nice and light.

·
Registered
11,255 Posts
check out the new redington ct 6 piece rods.....while i have only played with the 4 piecers...this is a sweet action trout rod....CT=classic trout. It is a slower/softer action rod, somewhat like my sage LL.

·
Registered
2,320 Posts
Mr Mumbles; The all-time greatest absolute without question numero uno, best in the west, favorite pac rod is a Batson RX8+ 904-4. It makes hikes easier, more enjoyable, improves scenary, prevents blisters, allows for greater wild-life viewing, keeps mosquitos away....you get the idea! :clown:

·
Still fly fishing in the PCW
5,371 Posts
Ed, I have some Redington Wayfarers in 5, 6 & 7 pcs. My rcommendation is to try and stick to even numbers of sections. When you break a 5 or 7 piece rod in half, there is no half and there will probably be times when you want to do this.

·
Registered
2,630 Posts