Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
howdy!

I'm an avid alaskan fly fisherman looking to pick up a new switch rod. I'm looking at possibly a 7wt for big bow's, dollies, and steelhead. I'm considering the Sage 7110-4 Z-axis, or alternatively (more affordably) the Redington CPX 11374.

Anyone have any experience with either of these rods? I've never done any Spey casting (although it does intrigue me), I'd still probably overhead cast most of the time with the occasional D loop roll cast depending on streambank conditions, boat clutter, etc... should I go down to the 6wt or stay with the 7wt?

my main trout stick currently is a G.Loomis GLX Native Run 7wt.

thanks and tight lines!

·
I'm a teacher, I fish to eat!
785 Posts
The switch rods are awesome! and living in Seward you are close to those big beautiful waters, to use a switch. The switch world has exploded in the last two years, i would also check out Beluah and TFO. They make some really nice mid range switch rods with lifetime warranty. As has been my experience, it is a lot easier to learn to spey cast with a Spey rod, than a switch, but it can be done, I did. Beluah has their own lines matched for rods which makes it nice in trying to pair. Just my opinion.

G

·
Switch rods are like speys in that the number means nothing from company to company...that z axis your looking at is more like a traditional 7wt in that it would throw closer to it's line designation...the z's are sweet rods....Bob Meiser invented the switch 20 some years ago...His rods a stupid good and less money then the sage...I know if you called him he would hook you up and probably come up and fish with you as well...

Don't sweat the little chit..two hand overheading with these rods out past 100' is very doable...Play around and the roll casts, single speys etc. will come...

·
Long Lost Member
20,209 Posts