Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Aint no nookie like chinookie
994 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone throw one of these beasts? What liine did you like on it?
It's quite a rod ... One I would never part with -
Le'Roy

·
Registered
1,446 Posts
Leroy,

I own the rod and it is one of my favorites. I bought it back in February of 1997 for use on winter steelhead, chum, kings, and fishing BC's Thompson River, so I've been using it for 13 years now. I like casting and fishing with long-belly lines, so that is what I use on mine. In fact, back when I bought it the longest belly WF spey lines on the market at that time were the RIO Accelerator lines. I bought a 10/11 one, cut the line at 25' from the tip, spliced in 25' of 10 wt level line, and then looped tips (floating and sinking) to it. This gave me a line with a belly of 87' instead of the Accelerator's 77' belly. I now use either the RIO GrandSpey 10/11 (a favorite line with sink tips because it has such positive turnover with sink tips and large flies) or the SA XLT 10, which I cut at 26' for use with sink tips.

I never liked the rod with short- and mid-belly lines because the rod needs a lot of grains to load it up, so I don't use them. I personally wouldn't use a line that weighs less than 800 grs or more than 1050 grs (yes, I know the GrandSpey 10/11 weighs 1100 grs and the SA XLT 10 weighs 1070 grs, but I keep the 10' back tapers in the rod tip with both lines to keep the rod from being overloaded).

I've been accused of overkill with this rod by some folks, and I've had others tell me there is no need for such a beast of a rod that will wear you out in a day's fishing. I fish it all day long, don't have it wear me out, and haven't found it to be overkill. Unlike a Skagit setup, a rod for a long-belly line needs to be able to toss some very serious grains in order to have enough mass in the line's tip and line itself to turn over large flies at distance.