Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
429 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Im just getting into the tying world. I live in olympia and primarily fish for Trout, steelhead, Salmon (all types that come around here) and SRC. Im looking for advice as to which patterns you would recommend starting with. I dont want to buy a bucket load of materails, but want to be more systematic. Can you all recommend patterns and some recipies/links to recipies.

Many thanks!

·
Left handed Gemini.
538 Posts
SteelheadandTrout/buggers,Salmon/clousers, SRC/spiders your choice of colors the possibilties are almost endless but you can make a bunch of flies with very little material expenditure most of the patterns only require at the most 3.
tony

·
Registered
58 Posts
Photosenior:
I would suggest for salt water fishing that you search this forum for Les Johnson, Roger Stephens, Preston, Leland Miyawaki, and Don Freeman. I apologize for forgetting some but feel you will get a good start with these boys, they are good at saltwater fishing.:)

·
Registered
429 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for this info.

I was hoping some of you would have a good list and links to recipes for the patterns.

Anyone?

Have a good weekend!

·
Still truckless now farther away
1,693 Posts
Ben get a hold of Les Johnsons book 'Fly Fishing For Coastal Cutthrout trout' Lots of infomation and many pics and patterns with recipes. Tha what I tied from mostly lately. I did some with beads and some with the regular patterns. many don't require to many different materials. He also has them grouped by fresh water and salt. If you have any pattern books look up salt patterns and clousers and decievers and sand lance, and candle fish. see what you find asj if you need more help. Bob

·
Resident Swinger
1,773 Posts