Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
844 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone!!
I hope you all can help me buy my first travel fly rod- something between 4-7 pieces- for hike in trout fishing. I'm thinking something in the 4 or 5 weight range, 8-9 feet long. I'll use it occassionally, but the most use it will have is when I go to BC this summer for some lake fishing near Little Fort(mostly using sinking line).
I have NO experience with fly rods with more than 2 pieces. Can anyone point me in the right direction? I saw a good review in a magazine for the Cabela's Stowaway 5 piece... Is it worth the money to buy one from Loomis/sage, etc? What should I expect in performance vs. a 2 piece?
Thanks,
Kaari

·
Patrick
1,805 Posts
I have been using the Cabelas 6wt 5 piece rod for about a year and a half now. The rod is a very good peice of fast action equipment that is very easy to cast. I have not been as happy with the reel that came with it. The Drake reel has had to be sent in for replacement once, had a new part sent to me once and the extra spool that I use the sink tip line on is very hard to lock into place. The floating spool locks in fine. The rod is a very good investment, I would look at other brands for the reel.

·
Registered
835 Posts
If you can afford a Sage or other high end rod they are definitely better, but the Stowaway rods are a pretty good value. I picked up a 7 piece 8wt that I used recently for bonefish. I would say the action is more of a medium action than a fast action, but it casts pretty well for a $100 rod. Whatever rod you go with, I would get a five weight for the BC lakes.

·
Registered
1,642 Posts