Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Trevor Hutton
545 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a problem (one of many). Ok, first of all I can cast quite well, prevent drag, all that good stuff. I Also know that trout are supposed to be in areas where they can get food with minimal use of energy (current seams, pools, behind rocks, eddies, foam lines, etc.)I usually know what to tie on ( not always, I kinda stink at this). So how come when I cast to where a fish would be, with the "right" fly & good presentation, there is nothing taking my fly? I do alright If I can see riseforms or see where the fish are, and lakes are ok too, but otherwise I don't have much happening. I am still learning (only been doing this about a year and a few months.) Also on rivers like the yakima in the canyon, Which I am but minutes away from, with no above surface structure to spot, or rises, where does one even begin to cast? I will hopefully get a lot more experience this summer once school is out (one week!)with my friend's dad who has been doin' this his whole life, but thought I would ask ya'll anyway.

P.S. I fished the s.f. of the snoq. on saturday near the riverbend community( I have some friends there) but this same thing happened to me---please help I am desperate :DUNNO Thanks for any/everything - Trevor

·
Registered
315 Posts
By no stretch of the imagination am I an expert but if the trout aren't rising than they are probably feeding off of nymphs / emergers subsurface. It's safer for the fish to feed this way and not become a meal for osprey, hawks, eagles, etc.

Some people will tell you that 60-75% or more of a trouts diet is taken subsurface. Learn to fish nymphs (sometimes as a dropper off of a dry) you'll catch more fish, especially when there aren't any visible surface rises.

Good luck :THUMBSUP

Greg

·
Registered
151 Posts