Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
dead drifting into thread drift
5,755 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Apologies for the redundancy of the topic (it does show up a fair amount with the searches), but I'm hoping that there might be some fresh takes on it.

Point being, how many of you use two-handed in the salt, PS beaches, sandy coastal beaches, off the rocks, etc? What types of lines do you prefer? I'm basically looking for various ways to go easier on the shoulders and extend my fishing time, which is what got me thinking about it. Most of this will be on sandy beaches on the Oregon coast, so I'd assume that skagit casting would basically be out because of the dynamic wave action effing with the anchor.

Thanks!
Randy

·
Registered
449 Posts
Well I have to say that switching over from SH to DH casting has helped reduce shoulder and wrist pain...

I am a newbie salt DH angler after 30 years of gear fishing in the salt...

I love my two handed rods for casting out sinking tips into the salt - beaches, jetties, bays, and soon from a boat...

Exclusively, I am a Skagit caster and use short heavy intermediate heads to launch full sinking tips (MOW) with a leader and a heavy fly.

The tough part of casting in the surf is the anchor and timing the surf. I cast using a snake roll or perry poke or single spey...

I currently use either my 8wt Redington Dually 13.5' or 9wt Cabella's graphite 14' when on the surf or fishing from jetties.

I also use a lighter 7wt switch rod (Redington Chromer) for the calm bays.

I am getting a 10wt two handed rod (Echo TR10150) 15' shortly which will be my go to Chinook rod for the salt in Vancouver, BC where I will be next month.

·
282 Posts