Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm going to take a spey fly tying class on Tuesday. I need to buy a vice that's sturdy enough for spey flies but also will do well for trout flies. What brand platform vices do you folks suggest? Of course I don't want to spend a bundle since I'm just starting out. Maybe after a few years I might need to upgrade but for now something sturdy and effective is need without all the bells and whistles.

Thanks,

Kevlar

· Registered
2,866 Posts
I love my Renzetti Traveler as well. The problem with going cheap
now means you will only want a Renzetti a few more years down the road
Then, now matter how good you get, it's hard to use two vises at once.
So the cheapo (and even then they are not cheap) goes in the drawer.
Get the Renzetti now and then be done with it. But if about $125-150 is more than you care to invest, I'll scout around and see if I can find my old Thompson Model A. You can have it. But I think I sold it in my last big garage sale when I thought I was going to die and I wanted to unload my stuff so my wife wouldn't get too badly burned.
I'll e-mail you if I find it. The old Tom tied a lot of flies for me, but she didn't rotate, she didn't hold tiny hooks well and you know she had little snob appeal and this is very important to me.
I believe that if you don't feel a little snobby when you tie your flies, they will stink. :CLOWN
BOBLAWLESS

· Registered
3,220 Posts
Take a look at the Dyna-King Kingfisher at around $99.00, it's not a full rotary vise but do you really need that feature? If you want a full rotary, check out the Peak Engineering vise from Loveland, CO., cam-operated, 100% US made, for about $115.00 (www.peakfishing.com). The vise comes with standard jaws and a set of midge jaws is available for an additional $20.00. Patrick's Fly Shop should have a few of them in stock soon.

· Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·