Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A buddy who I fish with on the Oregon coast looked at me crossed eyed when he saw I was using a 10' 6weight for winter steelhead. Well I recently learned why he looked at me that way. I had a 10lb+ native steelhead make a fool of me when I tried fighting him on my noodle rod. I couldn't even budge the fish...with one head shake he broke me off. So now I am in the market for an 8 weight single hander. I am a big fan of Echo rods and the price is right. I was looking at the 10' Echo Ion...any thoughts??? What are peoples opinions on 9' vs 10' when it comes to fishing the small coastal rivers?

·
Fly Guy Eat Pie
460 Posts
I'm no expert but I use a 9' and would have no complaints. 9'6" or 10' for the beach for 9' for rivers. any bigger river and I'll grab for my spey rod.

with that said, I have a a Sage VT2 9'6" 8wt that I am in love with. Not bad on the wallet either.

·
Free Man
1,872 Posts
I have two 8 wts, a 9' TFO TicrX that is more than adequate. I think they run around $250, and they make an Axiom which is even stronger. For nymphing I use 10' Sage XP, which is superb, but NOT reasonably priced.

·
I'm a teacher, I fish to eat!
785 Posts
I use the TFO Axiom 8 wt. It is a freaking cannon for casting and has a lot of backbone for those nice fish. The fit and finish on the rod is really Top Notch, great cork and hardware. I would recommend this rod to anyone! I do A LOT of nymphing with my 9'. it works great never had a problem. The TiCRX would be a great choice too....and the Echo. The rods in that rage are very very comparable in performance.

·
Registered
122 Posts
Stick with 9' i bought a TFO Pro Series 9' 8wt medium fast action. It will throw good sizes bugs. 159.00 great rod and better than sage warranty. I have sages also. I would go with the TFO rods.

·
Fly Guy Eat Pie
460 Posts