Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
846 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Been filling the freezer with Brown trout in hopes of smoking some fish in the next couple of weeks... Was thinking I could smoke them like I do salmon or steelhead but figured I'd check in with those who have perhaps been smoking trout for years.

So what you got?

I'll share a trout recipe/idea to start...(Not a smoker recipe)

Trout Tacos! Very simple....Season the trout to your liking then Bake the trout for 20min, remove skin and bones, throw the boned trout on preheated griddle or pan with melted butter and brown and shred into flaky chunks...Build your taco and enjoy! My family loves these, even my 9yr old who is very finicky! For the best tacos use fresh and quality fish... brown trout are my favorite.

I'll take any good canning ideas you might have as well.

James.

·
Registered
397 Posts
I like where this thread could be headed. I'm fairly new to smoking so I don't have any salmon or trout advice for you but I'm hoping some folks will chime in here so I can learn something too. Smoked two 12 lb birds Thursday using fruitwood pellets and everyone raved about them. Legs and thighs were especially good. Think I'll do a turkey and ham for Christmas.

Anyway, in for replies because I'd love to do some salmon.

Mike

·
Registered
846 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Turkeys are great smoked. Did you brine your turkey first?

Couple things I've learned about salmon and steelhead....1) You need fresh fish, don't bring a boot or a fire truck home with the idea a smoker will make it taste good. 2)Simple salt and sugar cure recipes are the best...soy sauce and other such garbage is just a ploy to make fish taste like something other than fish.

James

·
Registered
397 Posts
Turkeys are great smoked. Did you brine your turkey first?

James