Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
178 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im pretty new to the spokane area, as well as the sport, and was wondering if anyone knows of any good places to go fish this winter. I only know of the spokane, little spokane and colville rivers that are open. Anything would be helpful.

Thanks,
Ty

·
Registered
9 Posts
There aren't too many options in the Spokane area this time of year. I spend a lot of time on the downriver sections of the Spokane(landed a 17" rainbow yesterday). It's a challenging river but fishable during the winter. Other options are 4th of July Lake and Hog Canyon Lake. Both have good fishing and may not be iced over yet. Also Rocky Ford is usually worth the drive.
Good Fishing,
Don

·
Registered
537 Posts
Ty, I am not sure exactly where you live, but I fish the little Spokane somewhat frequently and have limited experience fishing the Colville river as well. I am not sure if you'd be interested, but I'd be glad to go out with you and show you some of the spots I am familiar with. Let me know.

Dave

·
Registered
178 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Im goin to gonzaga university and live about 15 min north of there. We just got out for winter vacation and i leave tomorrow mornin for home in the seattle area. However when i get back in january itd be great to learn a few spots i can go to on the weekends. I was acutally up driving along the little spokane river yesterday looking for places to fish. It seems pretty limited, but i wouldnt really know. I also stopped and fished latah(hangman) creek between the mouth and bridge. Thanks for offering your time!

Tyler

·
Registered
130 Posts
Tyler,